Board Members and Staff

We are grateful to our staff team and Board of Directors for their time, effort and commitment to EBCDA.  Thanks also to our funders, Department for Communities (DfC) Belfast City Council (BCC) and the Public Health Agency (PHA), The Executive Office and Community Empowerment Directorate (CED).  Thank you also to our members for their support and working closely with us to build towards achieving our strategy for 2015-2020 ‘People Build Communities’.

Board of Directors

Karen Purdy Chairperson

Bernie McConnell Vice Chair

Rev Mervyn Gibson Hon Treasurer

Annie Cook

Sammy Douglas

Rachael Davison

Liz Oslon

Emma Shields

Tommy Sandford

Janice Cherry (Co-Option)

Bobby Ellison (Co-Option)

Glen Jordan (Co-Option)

Richard Williamson (Co-Option)

Kim Briggs Company Secretary

Staff Members

Michael Briggs Executive Director

Kim Briggs Resource & Finance Director

Jonny Currie Community Development Director

Linda Armitage Health Development Director

Linda McCracken Reception and Administrative Support Officer

Marie-Anne Finance Manager


Jean Higginson Admin Support Officer

Sharon Traynor Health Development Coordinator

Narendra Munna Health Development Coordinator

Gillian Hamilton Emotional Wellbeing Coordinator

Alison Coulter Health Connections Coordinator

EBCDA Members

Full Members

Age Concern East Belfast & Castlereagh (IND)

Ballymacarrett District LOL No 6 District

BRACE (Ballymac Regeneration & Comm Enterprise)

Bloomfield Community Association

Ballymac Friendship Trust

Ballymacarrett Somme Festival

Boring Wells

Ballybeen Women’s Centre

Clarawood Community Association

Cregagh Community Association

Connswater Womens Group

Cregagh Retired Active Gentlemen

Connswater Community Group

Dundonald Sea Cadets

Dundonald Ladies Community Group

EBIAC – East Belfast Independent Advice Centre

East Belfast Wise Mens Shed

East Belfast Mission

Engage With Age

East Belfast Area Youth Project

East Belfast Sure Start

Friends of Mullen Mews

Greenway Women’s Centre

Knocknagoney Community Centre

Knocknagoney Area Forum

Lagan Village Youth & Community Group

Mountpottinger Methodist Church

Newtownards Road Womens’ Group

Newtownards Road Elim Pentecostal Church

Oasis Caring In Action

Oasis Trading

Oak Partnership

Round Tower Community Project

Ravenscroft Nursery School

Short Strand Community Forum

Short Strand Festival

Short Strand Partnership 

St Columbas’ Ladies’ Guild

Survivors of Suicide Support Group

Tullycarnet Community Support Services Ltd

The Aslan AssociationThe Hopefuls

Templemore Avenue School Association

Ullans Academy

Walkway Community Association

Wandsworth Community Association

Willowfield Parish Church

Willowfield Parish Community Association


Associate Members

Alison Wightman

Ashfield Boys’ High School

Belfast City Council

Belfast Health & Social Care Trust (Comm Dev)

Belfast Interface Project

BRO South & East Team

Charter for Northern Ireland

Chung Do Kwan NI

Connswater Homes Ltd

Contact NI

Dundonald Green Belt Assocation

Dundonald Townswomens Guild

East Belfast Alternatives

East Belfast Area Youth Project

East Belfast Learning Disability Services

GEMS Northern Ireland Limited

Glen Jordan

Green Action


Inverary Community Centre

Links Women’s Group

Newtownbreda Women’s Institute

NI Housing Executive

Ravenhill Presbyterian Men’s Fellowship

Ravenscroft Nursery School


Start 360

Tuesday Mother & Toddlers

Wilgar Community Forum

Youth Action Northern Ireland

Youth Initiatives

want to find out more?
get in touch

Could your community group or organisation benefit from EBCDA’s assistance?. Help us shape the future of East Belfast’s voluntary and community sector.

East Belfast Community Development Agency

East Belfast Network Centre

55 Templemore Avenue

Belfast BT5 4FP

T 028 9045 1512